New South Wales

President Joanna Ernenwein  
Vice Presidents Jacquie Seemann  
  Tryon Francis  
Secretary Carol Howard  
Treasurer John Boesenberg  
Representative on Editorial Board Lucy York  
Executive Members Margaret Baker  
  Jenny Moes  
  Paul Robson  
  Angela Catallo  
Email Contact .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)  


NOTICE of MEETING - NSW Chapter AGM, Thursday 9 December 2021 at 4.30 via ZOOM

The NSW Chapter of Australia New Zealand Education Law Association will be holding its Annual General Meeting on Thursday 9 December 2021 at 4.30pm via Zoom and face to face with our special guest speaker Tryon Francis, Director in Education at Deloitte commencing at 5pm. 

Tryon has over 20 years’ experience in the education sector in a range of positions such as university lecturer, education lawyer, school teacher, Australian Defence Force, and educational administration. In 2021 he completed his Doctor of Philosophy in Education Law which is the focus of this seminar. The business of the meeting is to receive the President’s and Treasurer’s report; and to elect the NSW Chapter Committee members. If you are interested in joining the Committee and wish to speak to a committee member, please email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) and you will be contacted.

Information about how to register to receive the Zoom details or to notify your attendance in person, please see Full PDF Information Flier

Joanna Ernenwein
ANZELA NSW Chapter President


Chapter update 26 August 2021

Continuing lockdowns in the Sydney metropolitan area have thwarted the Chapter’s plans to hold another seminar in September. Instead, we have decided to have an essay competition inviting NSW and ACT residents to submit an education/law essay of their choice. The best three submissions will win monetary prizes which will be announced at our AGM on December 9.  See details about the AGM below.


ANZELA NSW Essay Competition 2021

Are you a lawyer, educator, law student, education student, or recent graduate, with something to say about a legal issue affecting education? If yes, the ANZELA NSW Chapter invites you to participate in its 2021 Essay Competition. Prizes include a First Prize of $3000, a year’s ANZELA membership, and the opportunity to have your essay included in a future edition  of the International Journal of Law and Education (IJLE).

Full information about the Essay Competition is available here


Chapter Update 25 May 2021

Seminar Review: Responding to Damaging Social Media Behaviours

On Tuesday 18 May, the NSW Chapter held its first face to face education/law seminar since the shutdown in March 2020.

A panel of legal and educational experts—Julie Ross, Principal Kogarah High School; Margaret Baker, Legal Services Department of Education and Constable Matthew Aylward, Crime Prevention Officer—deftly and sensitively unpacked a multi-layered scenario as they responded to the unfolding issues.

Michael Waterhouse facilitated as the panel gave thoughtful and precise practical advice and in-depth responses to questions from the floor. All attendees left the seminar well informed on best practice for management of social media issues.

The Committee wishes to thank everyone who contributed to ensuring the seminar occurred.

Carol Howard
NSW Chapter Secretary


Save the Date

Our next seminar is likely to deal with the topic of ‘Consent’. Currently, it is planned to take place later in the year; teachers, administrators, students and lawyers at all levels are encouraged to attend.

Don’t miss out on this opportunity to engage with our education and law community and gain valuable insights into this important issue.

We welcome suggestions for seminar topics. Please send your ideas for future seminars to  .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)


NSW Chapter Reports

2021 NSW President's Report

2020 NSW President's Report

2019 NSW President's Report

2018 NSW President's Report

2017 NSW President's Report  

2016 NSW President's Report  


ANZELA National Conference 2018

2018 ANZELA Conference Report 

Photos - ANZELA 2018 National Conference

By Joanna Ernenwein 2018 recipient of the inaugural Robert Horton Memorial Scholarship.